Vanicream Moisturizing Cream Analysis: Formula, Packaging, Price, and Evidence

Evidence: E2 — independently cross-checked across the exact U.S. retailer listing, the current brand formula page, an independent certification directory, U.S. labeling rules, moisturizer research, a historical physicochemical study, and a product-named trial registry record

Risk scope: R1 — product, formula, package, and price interpretation that may affect spending; no diagnosis, treatment, reaction prediction, or individualized safety advice

Direct observation: Not performed; Formula Clarity did not purchase, open, dispense, weigh, photograph, smell, feel, or use this product

Expert review: Not required for the retained R1 scope; not claimed

Product and price checked: September 12, 2026, U.S. market

Key limitation: The captured pages support identity, declared ingredients, package listing, price snapshot, and bounded evidence analysis; they do not prove the exact purchased unit, formula percentages, sensory performance, preserved quality after opening, universal tolerability, or superiority

Next review: Before any public release, after a material formula, package, price, retailer, certification, study, or Product B binding change, and no later than September 12, 2027

Quick answer

The checked U.S. 16-ounce non-pump Vanicream Moisturizing Cream listing has a short declared formula led by water and petrolatum, with sorbitol, propylene glycol, fatty-alcohol and emulsifier components. Target displayed the selected non-pump listing at $13.19 on September 12, 2026. A separate Walmart page displayed a similarly named 16-ounce pump listing at $13.56, but its package is not the selected Product B object. That makes this a well-documented comparator candidate, not a proven winner. The records do not establish exact percentages, texture, dispensing, current-lot parity, personal suitability, or better performance than CeraVe.

Exact product and version captured

This analysis is tied to one proposed Product B purchase object:

brand = Vanicream
product = Moisturizing Cream
market = United States
nominal size = 16 oz
selected package = non-pump retail listing
Target TCIN = 14768513
UPC = 345334300014
Target DPCI = 037-12-2609
checked date = September 12, 2026

The Target product page displayed the selected size, non-pump listing, identifiers, ingredient declaration, claims, price, and availability. Target also displayed a separate 16-ounce pump SKU with different identifiers: TCIN 13967260, UPC 345334300168, and DPCI 037-13-1048. The package formats must not be silently combined.

The current Vanicream product page supplies a product-level formula, directions, and brand claims. Its carousel and recycling text emphasize a pump container, while the exact Target object selected here is the non-pump listing. Formula Clarity did not inspect a physical unit, seal, lot code, package insert, batch, or country-of-origin marking.

What the current records can verify

Identity and package listing

The exact Target page supports the selected product name, 16-ounce size, non-pump listing, UPC, TCIN, DPCI, and availability on the checked date. It does not establish that every pump, tub, bottle, travel size, older batch, or future retailer listing uses the same container or formula.

The separate pump SKU is useful as a version-control check. It is not evidence that a pump is cleaner, protects the formula better, dispenses a repeatable amount, or is worth a price difference. Those are observation or packaging-performance questions, and no such test was performed.

Ingredient declaration and a visible source conflict

The current Vanicream product page and the National Eczema Association product entry display the same ten declared names:

water
petrolatum
sorbitol
cetearyl alcohol
propylene glycol
ceteareth-20
simethicone
glyceryl stearate
PEG-30 stearate
sorbic acid

The selected Target label displayed the same ten names followed by BHT. The two displays are recorded separately because a retailer label and a manufacturer page can reflect different version or label timing; Formula Clarity did not inspect the package or lot.

That manufacturer/NEA agreement supports a ten-name public formula pattern. The selected Target label adds BHT as an eleventh displayed name, so the retailer-versus-manufacturer discrepancy must remain explicit. Neither display proves lot-level identity.

The official product FAQ says the flagship moisturizer contains “only 11 ingredients.” The current Target label for the selected non-pump listing displays the ten-name manufacturer/NEA pattern plus BHT, while the manufacturer and NEA pages display ten names. Pump-specific retailer metadata also discusses BHT. These are source conflicts, not permission to treat one display as the universal formula or to remove an ingredient. The correct operational response is to preserve the discrepancy and verify the package intended for purchase.

FDA explains that U.S. retail cosmetics generally declare ingredients by common or usual name in descending order of predominance, with ordering exceptions for ingredients at one percent or less and color additives. The declaration therefore supports identity and limited order context, not exact percentages or a visible one-percent boundary. See FDA’s Cosmetic Ingredient Names, its labeling summary, and 21 CFR 701.3.

Directions and brand or retailer claims

The official page says to apply the cream as needed to the face, hands, feet, and body and after common water or weather exposure. It describes the product as non-greasy, easy to spread, quickly absorbed, non-comedogenic, fragrance-free, free of masking fragrance, dermatologist tested, suitable for all ages, and accepted by the National Eczema Association.

Those are first-party claims. Target also uses labels such as unscented, no fragrance added, hypoallergenic, and sensitive-skin oriented. Article 3 explains why unscented and fragrance-free are not interchangeable proof objects. This product analysis records the exact wording but does not convert it into a guarantee about odor, irritation, allergy, clogging, or individual suitability.

FDA states that cosmetic claims must be truthful and not misleading and that cosmetic labels are not pre-approved by FDA. The FTC requires a reasonable basis for objective advertising claims. See FDA’s Cosmetics Labeling Claims, FDA’s label pre-approval explanation, and the FTC advertising-substantiation policy.

Independent certification record

The National Eczema Association directory lists the named Vanicream Moisturizing Cream and a ten-name ingredient set consistent with the captured formula pattern. That supports the product’s presence in the Seal of Acceptance directory on the checked date.

The directory’s own disclaimer says people remain responsible for identifying ingredients that may affect them and should direct suitability questions to a healthcare provider. The Seal is not a universal recommendation, medical clearance, or personal-suitability guarantee. See the Seal directory explanation.

Formula-role analysis

The ingredient declaration supports a role map, not a product score.

Water and petrolatum

Water is the displayed vehicle. Petrolatum appears second in the declaration and is identified by Vanicream’s own ingredient-function reference as an occlusive skin-conditioning material. Moisturizer literature also treats occlusives as one part of a larger system. See The Skin Barrier and Moisturization and Role of topical emollients and moisturizers.

The list does not disclose the petrolatum percentage, grade, film properties, wear time, or measured effect on water loss in the current retail product.

Sorbitol and propylene glycol

Vanicream describes sorbitol as a humectant and propylene glycol as a humectant, solvent, and contributor to microbiological product stability. General moisturizer reviews describe humectants as water-binding components whose result depends on the full formulation and use context. See Active agents in common skin-care products and Therapeutic moisturizers.

Their presence does not disclose exact amounts, water activity, delivered hydration, irritation probability, or how the current package performs after repeated opening.

Cetearyl alcohol and glyceryl stearate

The brand’s function reference identifies cetearyl alcohol as an emollient, viscosity adjuster, and emulsion stabilizer, and glyceryl stearate as an emollient and emulsifying surfactant. Those roles support a cream-structure interpretation. They do not establish texture, absorption speed, residue, pilling, or preference because Formula Clarity did not handle the product.

Ceteareth-20, PEG-30 stearate, simethicone, and sorbic acid

The brand describes ceteareth-20 and PEG-30 stearate as emulsifying surfactants, simethicone as a skin conditioner and antifoaming agent, and sorbic acid as a pH-adjusting and microbial-growth-inhibiting ingredient. These roles explain why a short formula still requires structural and preservation components.

The declaration does not substitute for emulsion characterization, rheology, challenge testing, contamination testing, shelf-life data, package-compatibility data, or stability after opening.

What the short list does—and does not—mean

The manufacturer and NEA ten-name displays do not include named ceramides, glycerin, or sodium hyaluronate; the selected Target display adds BHT. The official FAQ also states that the flagship Vanicream Moisturizing Cream does not contain ceramides. These are bounded identity facts for the compared source displays, not evidence of inferiority or formula parity.

A shorter ingredient list can make transcription and version comparison easier. It does not automatically mean simpler manufacturing, lower irritation risk, stronger occlusion, better value, better tolerability, or better performance. Ingredient count ignores amount, raw-material specification, processing, physical organization, preservation, package interaction, directions, and the buyer’s actual constraint.

The same rule works in reverse: a longer CeraVe list with named ceramides and sodium hyaluronate is not automatically better. Article 14 can compare the two only after Product A and Product B are approved, versions are matched, criteria are declared, prices are refreshed under an approved method, and missing data remains visible. For the limits of ingredient-list inference, see how to read an INCI list and ingredient-list limitations.

Packaging analysis without pretending to test it

The exact Target candidate is non-pump. The separate Target pump SKU has a different UPC and a separately displayed price. The official product page groups 16-ounce recycling instructions around a pump or cap, which is another reason not to infer exact package behavior from a product-family page.

Without direct observation, this analysis cannot verify:

  • whether the non-pump package has an inner seal;
  • opening diameter or ease of access;
  • pump priming, clogging, dose repeatability, or residual product;
  • contamination exposure during use;
  • closure tightness or transport leakage;
  • package compatibility or protection over shelf life;
  • accessibility for a particular user.

The supported conclusion is only that separate package identifiers exist and must remain separate in research, price, CMS, and future comparison records.

Price snapshot and what it means

On September 12, 2026:

Seller/listing Match Displayed price Displayed unit price Important limits
Target, TCIN 14768513 exact selected 16 oz non-pump SKU $13.19 $0.82/oz displayed as a lower price from $13.99; tax, shipping, membership, coupons, and local stock excluded
Walmart, item 46108760 similarly named 16 oz pump listing; exact selected non-pump UPC not bound $13.56 84.8¢/oz package mismatch; seller, fulfillment and local availability require refresh

The selected Target non-pump snapshot is $13.19 before transaction-specific costs. The Walmart pump page is a non-equivalent cross-check, not a second exact non-pump price. These observations do not prove the lowest available price, stable future price, cost per use, long-term affordability, or value versus CeraVe. A value verdict remains blocked until PDR-013 defines the approved price, seller, shipping, tax, promotion, refresh, and calculation method.

See the current Walmart listing only as a dated pump-package seller-page cross-check, not as a merchant recommendation or exact Product B price match.

Finished-product evidence

A 2012 study measured pH and a hydrophilic index across 31 marketed moisturizers and included Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream. That is a useful product-named physicochemical record. It belongs to the tested sample, method, and time; it does not verify the current Target SKU, current formula parity, sensory performance, long-term stability, or a consumer outcome. See the published study and its PubMed record.

A ClinicalTrials.gov record names Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream and Vanicream Cleansing Soap in an exploratory early-phase skin-barrier study with an actual enrollment of 14. A registry record describes a protocol and study status; it is not, by itself, a posted result paper, independent replication, or proof that the exact current non-pump SKU produces a specific outcome.

No source in this packet supports a claim that Vanicream is superior to CeraVe, works for every user, or delivers the brand’s full set of consumer-facing claims under all conditions.

Recall and classification check

The captured pages present the product as a cosmetic moisturizer and do not display a Drug Facts panel. This is an observed presentation, not a legal-compliance certificate. Claims and intended use can affect U.S. classification, and future wording must be rechecked.

A public search of the FDA recalls, market withdrawals, and safety alerts on September 12, 2026 did not locate an exact Vanicream Moisturizing Cream match in the checked results. That negative search does not prove the absence of a lot issue, adverse event, quality complaint, market withdrawal, or future recall. Repeat the exact query before CMS preview and public release.

Buyer-fit decision without a recommendation

The current evidence can support a buyer checklist, not a product recommendation.

This exact candidate may be relevant for comparison when the buyer wants to verify:

  • a current U.S. 16-ounce non-pump cream object;
  • a short public ingredient declaration;
  • petrolatum-led occlusive context plus sorbitol and propylene-glycol humectant context;
  • no named ceramides in the captured list;
  • fragrance-free and masking-fragrance-free brand wording;
  • an independent directory entry;
  • a dated Target non-pump price of $13.19 before transaction-specific costs.

The evidence is insufficient when the decision depends on:

  • actual texture, spread, absorption, residue, odor, pilling, or package handling;
  • ingredient percentages, pH of the current lot, preserved quality, or formula structure;
  • a guarantee about irritation, allergy, clogging, or personal suitability;
  • a claim that fewer ingredients are better;
  • a price-value winner or direct CeraVe comparison;
  • treatment of a diagnosed condition or advice involving medications, procedures, pregnancy, severe reactions, or compromised skin.

A supported current conclusion is: the exact Vanicream listing is a well-documented Product B candidate with a distinct petrolatum-led, short declared formula and a competitive dated price, but the package does not establish direct experience, superior performance, personal suitability, or a comparison winner.

For the bounded head-to-head context with the selected CeraVe moisturizer, see CeraVe Moisturizing Cream vs Vanicream Moisturizing Cream: Formula, Packaging, Price, and Evidence Compared. That comparison keeps the exact U.S. non-pump objects, dated price snapshot, and evidence limits visible rather than treating this single-product analysis as a winner.

If the question is whether this Vanicream cream and the selected CeraVe cream fit in one routine, see the CeraVe–Vanicream routine-fit analysis. It separates moisturizer-step overlap from untested layering, mixing, and individual suitability.

Methodology and evidence limitations

This analysis applies the gate-first product-evaluation method in Article 11 to public U.S. sources. Identity and ordinary evidence gates pass for a bounded repository candidate. No first-party testing is claimed. No value verdict is requested. No affiliate relationship is present. The local method result is decision_supported only for the narrow question of what can be verified and what remains unknown.

Project authority is now admitted only for one private/noindex Article 13 Draft preparation under the successor PDR-009, PDR-013 and PDR-016 records. Public publication, indexing, affiliate use, recommendation, and Article 14 comparison remain separate gates. Formula Clarity did not purchase or inspect the product. Retailer and brand pages can change, the formula conflict requires package verification, and historical studies may not match the current SKU.

Sources