Evidence: E2 — independently cross-checked across the current U.S. retailer label, the brand’s current formula information, FDA labeling rules, an independent certification directory, moisturizer research, and a product-specific study with important limitations
Risk scope: R1 — product and formula interpretation that may affect spending; no diagnosis, treatment, reaction prediction, or individualized safety advice
Direct observation: Not performed; Formula Clarity did not purchase, open, dispense, weigh, photograph, or use this product
Expert review: Not required for the retained R1 scope; not claimed
Product and price checked: September 11, 2026, U.S. market
Key limitation: The captured pages support identity, label, package listing, price snapshot, and bounded evidence analysis; they do not prove the exact purchased package, ingredient percentages, sensory performance, universal tolerability, or superiority
Next review: Before public release, after a material formula, package, price, retailer, certification, study, or selected-product change, and no later than September 11, 2027
Quick answer
The checked U.S. 16-ounce CeraVe Moisturizing Cream listing is a fragrance-free face-and-body cream with glycerin, petrolatum, dimethicone, three named ceramides, sodium hyaluronate, cholesterol, and other formula-support ingredients. Target displayed it at $15.99 and Walmart at $15.97 on September 11, 2026. Those records make it a well-documented product-analysis candidate, not a proven winner. The label does not reveal ingredient percentages, physical structure, retained potency, sensory performance, or personal suitability.
Exact product and version captured
This analysis is tied to one purchase object:
brand = CeraVe
product = Moisturizing Cream
market = United States
nominal size = 16 fl oz
selected package = non-pump retail listing
Target TCIN = 13977967
UPC = 3606000537668
Target DPCI = 037-12-1958
checked date = September 11, 2026
The Target product page displayed the selected size, identifiers, ingredient declaration, directions, product claims, price, and availability. Target also listed a separate 16-ounce pump version, so the pump and non-pump formats must not be silently combined.
CeraVe’s current Moisturizing Cream formula page and refill page display the same named core formula pattern and warn that ingredient lists can change. The package intended for purchase remains the final operational reference. Formula Clarity did not inspect a physical unit, lot code, seal, batch, country-of-origin marking, or package insert.
What the current records can verify
Identity and package listing
The selected Target page supports the product name, 16-ounce size, non-pump listing, UPC, TCIN, and retailer availability on the checked date. It does not prove that every retailer, package, refill, pump version, batch, or future listing uses the same container or formula.
A separate pump format was displayed by Target at a higher listed price. That difference is useful for package identification and price capture. It is not evidence that one dispenser is cleaner, more stable, easier to use, or better value. Those conclusions would require a defined observation or packaging test.
Ingredient declaration
The captured declaration lists:
Aqua/Water/Eau
Glycerin
Cetearyl Alcohol
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride
Cetyl Alcohol
Ceteareth-20
Petrolatum
Potassium Phosphate
Ceramide NP
Ceramide AP
Ceramide EOP
Carbomer
Dimethicone
Behentrimonium Methosulfate
Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate
Sodium Hyaluronate
Cholesterol
Phenoxyethanol
Disodium EDTA
Dipotassium Phosphate
Tocopherol
Phytosphingosine
Xanthan Gum
Ethylhexylglycerin
FDA explains that retail cosmetics generally declare ingredients by common or usual name in descending order of predominance, with ordering exceptions for ingredients at one percent or less and color additives. That means the list supports declared identity and limited order context, not exact percentages or a visible one-percent boundary. See FDA’s Cosmetic Ingredient Names, its labeling summary, and 21 CFR 701.3.
Directions and brand claims
The captured retailer page instructs users to apply the cream liberally as often as needed or as directed by a physician. It presents claims including fragrance-free, non-comedogenic, rich but non-greasy texture, three essential ceramides, hyaluronic acid, MVE delivery technology, and 24-hour hydration.
These are first-party product claims reproduced on a retailer page. They should be recorded as claims, not converted into independent confirmation. FDA states that cosmetic claims must be truthful and not misleading and that cosmetic labels are not pre-approved by FDA. The FTC likewise requires a reasonable basis for objective advertising claims. See FDA’s Cosmetics Labeling Claims, FDA’s explanation of cosmetic label pre-approval, and the FTC advertising-substantiation policy.
Independent certification record
The National Eczema Association directory lists CeraVe Moisturizing Cream and an ingredient set consistent with the captured product formula. The directory is independent evidence that the named product appears in the Seal of Acceptance program.
The Seal is not a universal safety verdict, medical recommendation, or guarantee that the product will suit a particular person. The association’s own Seal directory explanation says the program is not an endorsement and preserves individual responsibility for checking ingredients and seeking healthcare advice when needed.
Formula-role analysis
The ingredient declaration supports a role map, not a performance score.
Humectant-related ingredients
Glycerin and Sodium Hyaluronate are commonly used as humectant or water-binding ingredients. A review of common skin-care actives identifies glycerin as a humectant, while moisturizer literature describes humectants as one part of a larger formulation system. See Active agents in common skin care products and Therapeutic moisturizers.
The label does not disclose their percentages, molecular specifications, raw-material grades, or contribution to the finished product under actual use.
Emollient and formula-structure ingredients
Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, and Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride can contribute emollient, structural, or sensory functions depending on the formula. Ceteareth-20, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Carbomer, and Xanthan Gum also help define emulsion structure, viscosity, or stability.
Their presence does not let a reader reconstruct droplet size, rheology, manufacturing process, spreadability, absorption speed, pilling, or feel. Formula behavior belongs to the finished product and, where relevant, direct observation.
Occlusive and conditioning ingredients
Petrolatum and Dimethicone are commonly used as occlusive or skin-conditioning materials. Moisturizer reviews describe occlusives, humectants, and emollients as complementary classes, but the resulting performance depends on the complete formula, amount, application, and study conditions. See The Skin Barrier and Moisturization and Role of topical emollients and moisturizers in dry-skin barrier disorders.
The declaration does not quantify film formation, water-loss reduction, wear time, or how the selected package performs during repeated use.
Ceramide and lipid context
The list includes Ceramide NP, Ceramide AP, Ceramide EOP, Cholesterol, and Phytosphingosine. That supports a broader declared lipid context. It does not disclose total ceramide amount, ratios, chain-length distribution, organization, delivery, or equivalence to a studied barrier-lipid system.
A qualitative review of ceramide-containing formulations reports formulation-specific evidence and limitations. It does not make every product with named ceramides interchangeable. See Clinical significance of ceramide-containing formulations.
Packaging analysis without pretending to test it
The selected SKU is the 16-ounce non-pump listing. A separate pump listing existed on the same retailer site. That creates a real buyer choice:
| Package question | What is verified | What remains unknown |
|---|---|---|
| Is a pump included? | Not in the selected SKU; a separate pump SKU was listed | Whether the package received matches the page |
| Is the formula the same across formats? | The pages use the same product name and formula pattern | Exact batch/formula parity without package inspection |
| Does the non-pump format require direct access to the product? | The listing identifies the non-pump container | Actual opening, seal, use mechanics, and contamination controls were not observed |
| Is the pump worth more? | The pump listing had a higher price | Dispensing accuracy, convenience, waste, and value were not measured |
| Does packaging preserve performance? | No package-performance data were found for the exact SKU | Air, light, microbial, moisture, and dose-control performance |
Formula Clarity therefore does not call the selected package hygienic, unhygienic, airless, protective, wasteful, convenient, or superior. Those are observation or testing conclusions.
Price snapshot and what it means
On September 11, 2026:
- Target displayed the selected 16-ounce non-pump SKU at $15.99, or about $1.00 per ounce.
- A Walmart listing for the same named 16-ounce product displayed $15.97, also about $1.00 per ounce.
- Target displayed a separate 16-ounce pump version at $17.99.
These are dated public listings, not a guaranteed checkout price. They exclude taxes, shipping, membership terms, coupons, subscriptions, location-specific availability, seller identity changes, and future promotions.
The snapshot supports a narrow conclusion: the selected non-pump product was listed at roughly sixteen U.S. dollars by two major retailers on the checked date. It does not establish long-term affordability, lowest price, cost per use, price stability, or value relative to Vanicream or another moisturizer. Those comparisons are outside this single-product analysis.
Finished-product evidence
A randomized, observer-blind, within-patient study included CeraVe Moisturizing Cream among four commonly available moisturizers applied to nonlesional forearm skin in participants with atopic dermatitis. The study was small and underpowered; capacitance improved in treated forearms, while several other barrier measures did not show significant changes. See PMID 32947459.
This study is relevant but does not settle the buying decision:
- it did not compare the current Target SKU against the proposed Product B under a purchase-oriented rubric;
- the study does not establish equivalence to the exact current retail formula, batch, package, and market version;
- the population and endpoints were specific;
- it did not measure personal preference, dispensing, pilling, facial use, package waste, current price, or universal tolerability;
- an underpowered result should not be converted into proof of superiority or failure.
A current ClinicalTrials.gov record also names CeraVe Moisturizing Cream in a maintenance study, but a trial record is not a completed result. See NCT07204561.
Recall and classification check
The captured pages present the selected product as a moisturizer with a cosmetic ingredient declaration and no displayed Drug Facts panel. That is consistent with a cosmetic presentation, but it is not an FDA approval or a legal certification of every claim. FDA explains that cosmetics generally do not receive premarket approval, apart from color-additive requirements.
A search of FDA public recall and safety-alert results on September 11, 2026 did not locate an exact CeraVe Moisturizing Cream 16-ounce recall in the reviewed results. This must be recorded as:
exact_recall_match_found_in_checked_search = no
absence_of_any_recall_or_issue = not_proven
future_or_lot_specific_status = unknown
Before a public product analysis, repeat the official recall search and bind the query, date, market, product identifiers, and result.
Buyer-fit decision without a recommendation
The current evidence can support this limited interpretation:
The selected CeraVe Moisturizing Cream 16-ounce SKU is a well-documented fragrance-free moisturizer candidate with a formula that declares humectant, emollient/structural, occlusive, and ceramide/lipid elements. Its current label, independent certification listing, dated price, and limited product-specific study make it suitable for a transparent analysis. They do not establish that it is better than the proposed comparator, appropriate for an individual, or worth a price premium.
This analysis may help a reader who wants to compare:
- exact product and package identity;
- declared formula roles;
- fragrance-free and certification records;
- non-pump versus pump listing;
- current size and price;
- product-specific evidence and its limitations.
It should not be used to decide diagnosis, eczema treatment, allergy risk, acne suitability, pregnancy use, use on damaged skin, reaction response, or compatibility with prescriptions or procedures.
Key unknowns before a purchase decision
- The current package, lot, batch and formula were not physically inspected.
- Dispensing, sensory behavior and exact package performance were not tested.
- A head-to-head comparison with the proposed comparator was not performed in this analysis.
- Individual suitability was not assessed.
- No affiliate relationship is used in this analysis.
The practical next step is to check the exact package and current retailer terms,
then compare only supported attributes and leave unmeasured performance unknown.
Our product-evaluation method
explains how these evidence limits shape a comparison without declaring a winner.
For a direct formula-and-packaging comparison with the selected Vanicream moisturizer, see CeraVe Moisturizing Cream vs Vanicream Moisturizing Cream: Formula, Packaging, Price, and Evidence Compared. That comparison keeps the exact U.S. non-pump objects, dated price snapshot, and evidence limits visible rather than treating this single-product analysis as a winner.
If the decision is whether this CeraVe cream and the selected Vanicream cream belong in the same routine, see the CeraVe–Vanicream routine-fit analysis. It maps both to the moisturizer step and keeps exact-pair layering and individual suitability unresolved.
Methodology and evidence limitations
This article uses public U.S. regulator materials, the selected retailer listing, current CeraVe formula information, an independent certification directory, moisturizer reviews, a product-specific study, and a current trial registry. It does not purchase or inspect a unit, verify lot identity, measure package performance, perform laboratory analysis, test texture or wear, interview users, aggregate reviews, or rank products.
Brand and retailer pages can change. Retailer ingredient text may contain punctuation or transcription errors. Prices and availability are local and time-sensitive. The product-specific study does not bind the exact current retail formula and package. A future material edit requires renewed source capture, claim coverage, QA, and release controls.
Sources
- Target — CeraVe Moisturizing Face & Body Cream, 16 fl oz
- Walmart — CeraVe Moisturizing Cream, 16 oz
- CeraVe — Moisturizing Cream
- CeraVe — Moisturizing Cream Refill
- National Eczema Association — CeraVe Moisturizing Cream
- National Eczema Association — Seal product directory
- FDA — Cosmetic Ingredient Names
- FDA — Summary of Cosmetics Labeling Requirements
- eCFR — 21 CFR 701.3
- FDA — Cosmetics Labeling Claims
- FDA — Does FDA pre-approve cosmetic product labeling?
- FTC — Policy Statement Regarding Advertising Substantiation
- Active agents in common skin-care products
- Therapeutic moisturizers
- The Skin Barrier and Moisturization
- Role of topical emollients and moisturizers
- Ceramide-containing formulation review
- CeraVe included in a randomized moisturizer study
- ClinicalTrials.gov — NCT07204561