Evidence: E2 — independently cross-checked across U.S. labeling and advertising controls, compound identity records, formulation-specific niacinamide studies, and dated official percentage-claim examples
Risk scope: R1 — general cosmetic claim and buying interpretation; no diagnosis, treatment, acne or pigmentation management, reaction prediction, or individualized safety advice
Direct observation: Not performed
Expert review: Not required for the retained R1 scope; not claimed
Evidence checked: July 23, 2026
Key limitation: A stated percentage does not by itself establish the calculation basis, delivered amount, stability, vehicle, comparative dose response, or finished-product performance
Next review: By July 23, 2027, or sooner after a material FDA, FTC, formula, claim, source, correction, or claim-verification method change
Quick answer
A higher advertised niacinamide percentage is not automatically a better purchase. A current package or official brand page can support that the brand claims a percentage for one exact product and version. The ingredient declaration cannot independently verify that number, and the number alone does not show the calculation basis, vehicle, pH, stability, delivery, tolerability, or finished-product result. Verify the exact claim, version, evidence object, and remaining unknowns before comparing products. For the label-reading limits behind that distinction, see what an ingredient list cannot tell you about a finished product.
For a bounded workflow that keeps ingredient identity, product directions, and compatibility unknowns separate, see Vitamin C and Niacinamide in One Routine: Compatibility Evidence and Product-Level Unknowns.
Key facts and unknowns
Niacinamide and nicotinamide identify the same compound
Niacinamide is another name for nicotinamide, a form of vitamin B3. Compound identity is useful because studies and product pages may use either term. It does not make all formulas, concentrations, vehicles, or outcomes interchangeable. See PubChem’s Nicotinamide record.
The ingredient declaration does not independently verify a percentage claim
FDA requires cosmetic ingredients to use common or usual names, and U.S. retail cosmetics generally list ingredients in descending order of predominance. Ingredients at one percent or less and color additives have ordering exceptions. The declaration therefore can show that Niacinamide is listed, but it normally does not disclose an exact percentage or a visible one-percent boundary. See FDA’s Cosmetic Ingredient Names, FDA’s labeling summary, and 21 CFR 701.3.
A front-label or product-page percentage is therefore a separate brand claim. It may be precise and useful, but it is not independently proved by ingredient order.
A percentage needs an exact claim object
Before comparing two numbers, capture:
- the exact product and variant;
- the exact wording, such as
10% niacinamideor a named complex containing niacinamide; - whether the page states a finished-product percentage, a blend percentage, or another basis;
- the market, size, package or official URL, and access date;
- the current ingredient declaration;
- any formula-change or regional warning;
- the evidence attached to that exact product or formula.
If the calculation basis is not disclosed, record it as unknown. Do not silently assume that every percentage uses the same denominator, raw-material basis, assay, or rounding method.
Study findings are formulation-specific
A 5% niacinamide study evaluated an exact topical formulation, use schedule, participant group, duration, and appearance endpoints. It supports conclusions about that study object, not a universal rule that 5% is ideal or that 10% or 20% is better. See Bissett and colleagues’ topical niacinamide study.
A separate study evaluated 2% niacinamide formulations and facial sebum measurements under its own design. It does not establish a complete concentration-response curve or a product-ranking rule. See the 2% niacinamide sebum study.
These studies answer different questions with different formulations and endpoints. Comparing the numbers alone discards the evidence object that produced the result.
What a percentage claim can support
The brand’s exact statement for one version
An official current page can support that a brand presents a specific percentage claim. Capture it as first-party evidence, including date and market. Do not convert it into independent confirmation of performance.
A more precise comparison question
A percentage can help you ask:
- Is the claim about niacinamide itself or a multi-ingredient complex?
- Does the page identify the calculation basis?
- Does the current ingredient declaration list niacinamide?
- Is the exact sold formula the object of any finished-product study?
- Are comparator, duration, endpoints, and conflicts disclosed?
- Has the formula or claim changed since the evidence was produced?
A reason to investigate, not a winner
A higher number may change what evidence you should seek. It does not automatically establish greater delivery, benefit, stability, tolerability, or value.
Three current percentage-claim examples—and what they show
The examples below were checked on July 23, 2026. They demonstrate claim handling, not recommendations, rankings, product testing, or proof that one percentage is better.
| Official page | Displayed claim | What the page can support | What remains separate |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% | The product name states 10% niacinamide and 1% zinc | The brand presents those percentages for the checked page/version | Calculation and assay details, stability, delivery, finished-product comparative performance, and the package actually purchased |
| Naturium Niacinamide Serum 12% Plus Zinc 2% | The product name states 12% niacinamide and 2% zinc | The brand presents those percentages for the checked page/version | Whether its formula, evidence, and endpoints are comparable with another product |
| Paula’s Choice CLINICAL Niacinamide 20% Treatment | The product name states 20% niacinamide | The brand presents a higher percentage claim for the checked page/version | A head-to-head dose-response result, individual suitability, and proof of superior value |
See the current pages for The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%, Naturium Niacinamide Serum 12% Plus Zinc 2%, and Paula’s Choice CLINICAL Niacinamide 20% Treatment.
The examples show that market claims span different numbers and formula contexts. They do not supply a controlled comparison among the products.
What the percentage does not tell you
Whether the number is independently verified
A brand claim is not the same as an independent assay. Unless a credible method and result are published for the exact product and version, independent verification remains unknown.
The amount that remains available through shelf life
A stated input or finished-product percentage does not by itself disclose stability across manufacturing, packaging, storage, and use. The current formula, test method, package, and time point matter.
Vehicle, pH, interactions, and delivery
The number does not reconstruct the vehicle, pH, solvent system, viscosity, interactions with other ingredients, or delivery to the relevant location. Those variables can affect the exact formulation studied or sold.
A linear dose-response relationship
Studies at different concentrations, in different vehicles, with different populations and endpoints do not establish that more is proportionally better. A valid dose-response conclusion requires a study designed to compare doses under sufficiently matched conditions.
Individual tolerability or suitability
A percentage does not determine whether a product will feel comfortable, cause a reaction, fit another routine, or be appropriate for a particular person. Those conclusions are outside this article.
Price or value
A higher number does not justify a higher price by itself. A value conclusion would require dated price, size, seller terms, expected use, complete formula evidence, product evidence, and an approved price method. Formula Clarity has not authorized a current price-premium verdict for this article.
A claim-verification workflow
1. Capture the exact claim
Record the product, variant, market, package or official URL, exact percentage wording, access date, and any formula/version warning. Screenshots or private account data are not required for this public-source packet.
2. Identify the claim basis
Classify the claim as:
finished_product_percentage
raw_material_or_complex_percentage
ingredient_percentage_basis_not_disclosed
other_or_unknown
Do not compare unlike bases as if they were equivalent.
3. Read the exact ingredient declaration
Confirm whether Niacinamide appears and record the current list. Use order only as limited context. Do not reverse-engineer the claimed percentage from position.
4. Separate evidence levels
Use distinct fields for:
brand_percentage_claim
ingredient_identity
material_or_assay_record
ingredient_or_formula_study
exact_finished_product_study
independent_replication
unknown
Do not upgrade one category into another.
5. Audit the study object
Check the exact formulation, concentration, comparator, participant or model, duration, application schedule, endpoint, measurement method, funding, conflicts, and whether the sold product is truly the tested object.
6. Look for a matched concentration comparison
A real “higher is better” conclusion needs sufficiently matched dose groups or products. Separate studies with different vehicles and endpoints do not create that comparison.
7. Preserve the unknowns
A useful record can read:
brand_claimed_percentage = verified for exact dated page
claim_basis = disclosed | unclear
current_ingredient_declaration = captured
independent_assay = unknown
stability_through_shelf_life = unknown
matched_dose_response = not established
finished_product_comparative_result = not established
individual_suitability = not assessed
8. Make only the supported conclusion
Supported:
This exact version carries a stated niacinamide percentage. The number helps define the claim, but it does not by itself establish a superior finished-product result.
Unsupported:
This product has the highest percentage, so it must work best.
Common shortcuts that fail
- “Twenty percent is twice as effective as ten percent.” Percentages alone do not supply a matched dose-response study.
- “Niacinamide appears high in the list, so the brand’s number is verified.” Ingredient order is not an independent quantitative assay.
- “A 5% study proves every 5% product.” Study findings belong to the exact formulation, method, population, and endpoints.
- “A lower percentage is too weak.” The article has no evidence for a universal minimum across all cosmetic formulas and buyer goals.
- “A higher percentage is better value.” Value needs price, size, expected use, formula, and product evidence under an approved method.
- “The percentage decides whether it is safe for me.” Individual reaction and suitability are not answered by the number.
When this guide is useful—and when to stop
Use this guide to audit the exact wording of a percentage claim, distinguish brand claims from ingredient declarations and studies, compare evidence objects, identify missing dose-response evidence, and preserve version/date context.
Stop when the question becomes diagnosis, treatment, acne or pigmentation management, pregnancy, prescription or procedure advice, serious-reaction response, toxicity, or individualized safety and suitability. FDA also explains that claims about treating disease or affecting body structure or function can change the regulatory character of a product. See FDA’s Cosmetics Labeling Claims.
Methodology and evidence limitations
This article uses public U.S. labeling and advertising materials, a government compound record, two formulation-specific published studies, and three dated official percentage-claim examples. It does not perform laboratory assay, purchase or test products, establish a universal concentration threshold, or compare products head to head. Brand pages can change. The analysis is about claim verification and evidence transfer, not medical use or product ranking.
Sources
- FDA — Cosmetics Labeling Claims
- FDA — Cosmetic Ingredient Names
- FDA — Summary of Cosmetics Labeling Requirements
- eCFR — 21 CFR 701.3
- FTC — Policy Statement Regarding Advertising Substantiation
- PubChem — Nicotinamide
- Topical niacinamide facial-skin appearance study
- Two-percent niacinamide sebum study
- The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%
- Naturium Niacinamide Serum 12% Plus Zinc 2%
- Paula’s Choice CLINICAL Niacinamide 20% Treatment